Who do I think I am? Helen Dryden profile from Leeds Arts University.

I’m in my second year of MA Curation Practices at Leeds Arts University, and about 3 weeks ago my uni asked me to answer some questions about myself and how I ended up on this course. You can read the interview here:

https://www.leeds-art.ac.uk/study/postgraduate-courses/ma-curation-practices/current-students/current-students/helen-dryden/

What we hadn’t realised at the time of interview was how much the Corona virus would impact on the world, and so it seems a little frivolous reading this now, in the middle of social distancing. If it seems a little off-message, in the light of today’s situation, my apologies.

As our course work moves online for the duration of this special period, it will be challenging for students to complete their socially engaged projects. Museums and galleries are closed and non-essential groups can no longer meet up in real life. This has impacted my plans for my final project, and that of my course mates. We will be doing our best however, to do what we can with the resources available. With our tutors’ support maybe we can try socially-distanced curating projects, perhaps with online exhibitions.

Readers of this blog will also notice that I haven’t updated it with news of my progress or thoughts on curating for quite a while – I have simply been very busy! But in my following posts I will talk about the current project I’m working on – Kirkstall Seen, an interactive zine for the people of the Kirkstall area of Leeds, West Yorkshire.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started